The Ability Of Perception

forrest

 

In the depth of the silent woods, through the mist and darkness, I saw him coming, as many times before.

Sitting on the grass, melting with the sounds of the forest, I closed my eyes.
“Have you learned anything from a previous meeting? Any new stories you need to tell me?”, he asked.
I felt he sat down by my side. I looked at him.
He always looked the same, through all those years that have passed, never getting older, always wearing the same long black coat and military boots.
Black eyes, the blackest black I have ever seen, were looking directly into my eyes, trying to read my mind.
“No need for that, I said, “I will tell you all”.

The silence stood between us. I have never interrupted him in his approach. It was the first time in my life, from the first time we met, that I showed the resistance.

“The happening will occur, soon, to get me where I do not want to go. I tried to stop it, but it is impossible. All the other probabilities just lead to the same endpoint”, I said trembling.

“Are you sure? Because after all the time I am teaching you, you have always found the parallel in which the endpoint is changed”. He looked confused. And that scared me. He was never confused, perplexed, or showed any kind of emotion. Just an empty face with the perspicacious eyes.

“Yes. I searched and tried hardly. As never before. But there’s just no other path”.

He nodded his head. I felt his thoughts rumbling through mine, searching and discovering.

I knew he would find exactly what I told him. Nothing more.

“You are right. You have done everything correctly, following all the steps learned. You are ready.”

That was not a good conclusion. That was not what I wanted to hear. I expected from him, as from my teacher, that he will be able to track down another passage.

“So, what am I supposed to do now?”. I was calm, in the cloud of our perception spot.

“Nothing”, he said bluntly. “As I said, you are prepared. Our journey has come to the end”.

Images from the past, rushed around my mind.

Childhood, when I first met him. Seven years old girl, sitting at the same place as now. Afraid. Through the years he taught me so much. He helped me in numerous situations. And now, in my middle thirties, as a grown woman I reached the end of guidance.

“Thank you”, I said. That was all I could say, nothing more, nothing less. It would be inappropriate to move on with more words said.
We already said it all to each other in the past years.

“Remember, as unique you are, you are not indestructible. Your ability is not unbeatable by the universe. Accept that certainty, as you have accepted all of my coaching before”.

No remorse in his voice, no sadness because of our last goodbye. I didn’t expect it, though.

He stood up abruptly, the black coat and that familiar boots glittering in the moonlight.

He turned around and gave me a last look into the depth of my soul, and just vanished into the deepest parts of the woods.

In my mind, I heard “Goodbye”, and that was all. Nothing else to add, to say, to calm me as he did before. It was the end of our journey.

The path

Waking up was painful. Distorted mind, scattered thoughts. The usual feeling after our meetings. I got used to that over the years.
Coffee had brought me back a little, but still, the restlessness did not subside.

In the street, walking to the work, I was always looking at the pavement, not wanting to view someone in the eyes.

Because, if that happened, I could hear all of the person’s thoughts, the resemblance of his past, and being able to see his future, which was the hardest part. I have seen enough pain and suffering, and felt it with my whole body. I could not deal with it anymore, it was just too hard.

My ability was not a gift, but a curse. I have been grateful to my teacher to lead me and coach me how to control it, but sometimes it was not possible to break up the contact with the other person, and that was bothering me.

At the work, I was completely serene. I did all of my tasks, arranged meetings, concluded the unfinished work from the last week.

My co-workers were all blocked for my ability. I did that a long time ago, after realizing how much distraction there is working with a group of people and being able to feel what they feel, to hear what they think every time I looked someone in the eyes.

As the end of the day was near, I was resistant to go home. So I asked one of my colleagues to join me for a cup of coffee in the nearby restaurant.

I needed someones presence now. Just for a while, just to settle my mind.

The coffee was terrible, but the chit-chat was relaxing. I laughed at some jokes; I smiled to the stories about his weekend barbecue failure due to his nervous wife and annoying neighbors. The story totally unknown to me, as I have never experienced it before.

I grew up as an adopted child in a home without emotions, cold, distanced and miserable. That is why I run away when I was seventeen years old, under the guidance of my teacher. And I accomplished everything I wanted, including the most important thing to me. My own home and my precious solitude.

The evening was over. My colleague returned to his family life, and I went to my confinement, tranquil and empty.

The Peace

In the next weeks, my life didn’t change at all. I did all the same things as before. I read a lot of books, though, long into the night.

I never ever gave a thought about the path that was unchangeable. Because, this time, it was simply unchangeable.

What must come, will come, and I could not revert it as I could before in the other situations, changing the future and avoiding the unwanted events. That’s why my life had so smooth path, with no unpleasant surprises, just the settled road that I was walking freely.

My teacher taught me not only to see the other person completely, deeply into the soul, but he taught me also, how the scenery of my future life could be changed. By finding other paths which led me into the wanted direction.

Only this time, the universe had not offered me anything, but only one lane to go.

I went to sleep, with no more forest and black coat who had given me the reconciliation my whole life.

The happening

“You missed the point”, said the stranger, I just met at the club. I went out on a Saturday night, to dance and chill out.
We were drinking funny cocktails and fooling around, talking about nonsense stuff, joking and laughing.
I forced him to stay the stranger to me, because I have blocked him, not wanting to know anything about him. I just wanted a night of fun. That was all.
“My place or your place?”, he said. I started laughing so loud that people around, looked at me with curiosity.
“Neither”, I said. “I’m just not into it”.
“Ok, ok, I had to try!”, he smiled. He seemed like a nice person. An interesting person. And he was a handsome guy. Pretty handsome.
But still, I refused.
I was avoiding any contact for the past ten years, because of fear of commitment, the fear of knowledge, the fear of the future.
He just smiled again as I said I had to go home.
“Too many cocktails! I feel dizzy already. I’m ready for a good night sleep”.

Yawning, I just left the club, leaving him totally surprised. “It’s better that way”, I thought.
The cab driver was silent, which I preferred, just listening to the radio the whole way to my apartment. I felt calm, safe and very sleepy. It was a fun night, at least for me, I thought.

Entering the apartment, the scent of the flowers surrounded me.
In the darkness, through the fade moonlight from the window, I saw a figure standing in my bedroom.

Long coat. Black, I assumed.

Boots, military I assumed.

I felt no fear as I approached him.

“It is you”, I said. Even in the dark, I could see his black eyes looking at me.
“I should have known it. That’s why the vision of the person was blurred, and the happening so clear. Because, it is you”.

Silence. Heavy as a stone.
“Yes”, he said. “I blurred it”.

I understood now. Everything was falling into one perfect piece of my life design.
“I tried to change the paths, but even I couldn’t”, he said with the perfect tranquility.

Closing my eyes, I knew. I saw it before, in my dreams.
What must come, will come.

For the first time, I felt his lips on mine. A kiss. Of love, understanding and sadness.

The warmth of blood on my hands, on my legs and his kiss still lingering on my lips.

He lifted me softly and laid me on my bed. I could feel the warmth of the blood surrounding me.
I had no strength anymore to open my eyes and look at him one more time.
But I knew the tears on his cheeks. Just as I knew the feeling inside of him.

What must come, will come.

Even unconditional love cannot stop it.

Hey there! Have anything to say?

