Mental Ilness And The Stigma

cropped-bfmh-header

As a Borderline Personality Disorder “owner”, labeled and stigmatized, I have found that my obligation is rising the awareness about mental health and removing the stigma it bears.

“I pledge my commitment to the Blog for Mental Health 2014 Project. I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others. By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health. I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.”

Through the years, BPD had almost ruined my life, ended a quite number of friendships and partnerships.

I hurt the ones I love, I hurt myself.

When I asked for help, it was almost ten years after the symptoms started, and for all of that time, I have suffered.

Sometimes in silence, sometimes screaming.

The stigma that came along with the diagnosis, ruined my professional life.

No, it has ruined everything around me. Instead of getting help finally, I had to bear two problems at a time. The illness and the stigma.

I hope the society will one day understand how mental illness is just the same as physical one.

So the stigma could be removed. Once and for all.

http://acanvasoftheminds.com/2014/01/07/blog-for-mental-health-2014/

4 thoughts on “Mental Ilness And The Stigma

  1. andy1076 June 15, 2014 / 11:16 PM

    Eventually, I hope society will open their eyes and realize so, hopefully..!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tina The Mess June 16, 2014 / 12:02 AM

    We can only act to arise the awareness, and hope for the understanding and support.

    Thanks for commenting. 🙂

    Like

    • Tina The Mess July 1, 2014 / 6:28 PM

      Hi!

      Thank you for reblogging my post about BPD and the stigma and all the stuff that comes along with mental health issues.

      I really hope that one day the stigma will be removed from our lives.

      Thank you once again!

      Tina.

      Like

Hey there! Have anything to say?

