Finding the peace of mind, or how to beat depersonalization and anxiety – this is my way of doing it

 

Peace of mind can be found, in the silence of the night, cat purrs in your lap, rubber bands slapping on your wrist, vanilla ice cream eaten with a big spoon, hugging a tree, rolling down the meadow on the fresh green grass.

I have tried all of the above.

But, still, the method that gives me a complete sense of peace and puts me back into relatively normal state of mind, is the car driving.

Loud music, open windows and air freely whooshing through the car.

When I drive, I am me again.

And I drive without the destination. I just drive, into the Unknown. Sometimes I’m on the road for hours, sometimes I do just a quick speed test on the side road without any traffic. Burning tires is my speciality.

Cars, speed, music, open road in the night, they are my healers, my biggest supports.

I do wear a band on my hand sometimes, but no slapping on the wrist can be compared to this kinda feeling.

I do not need to drive today, though.

Vanilla ice and a large spoon. And a movie about impossible love, my favourite in the past few months : “The Code 46”.

My evening is going to be just….perfect.

 

3 thoughts on “Finding the peace of mind, or how to beat depersonalization and anxiety – this is my way of doing it

  1. dyane July 4, 2014 / 8:18 PM

    It was great to read this post, even though driving doesn’t help my depersonalization – I hope you don’t mind my sharing a link to your blog in my post! 🙂

    Take care and hope you are doing well,
    Dyane

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tina The Mess July 4, 2014 / 9:25 PM

      Hi Diane!

      Thank you for stoping by, reading and reblogging. Of course, I do not mind. 🙂

      I know that all of us have different ways of coping with depersonalization. I drive the car. 🙂

      You also take care of yourself and stay strong! 🙂

      Tina.

      Like

Hey there! Have anything to say?

